HPL Board of Directors

The Hays Public Library serves the cultural, informational, and recreational needs of the citizens of the community and contributes to our quality of life. The library is funded primarily by a tax levy on property within the city limits of Hays. It is governed by a Board of Directors. The Hays Public Library Board of Directors consists of seven members appointed by the mayor with the approval of the city commission (K.S.A. 12-1222). In addition to the appointed members, the mayor serves as an ex officio member of the board, which means that by virtue of the office or position, the mayor is a member. Members serve a four year term and are eligible for one reappointment. Board meetings are held monthly, on the second Wednesday of each month, at 4:00 p.m. in the gallery area on the 1st floor. Board meetings are open to the public. Changes in the schedule will be posted on this page of the library’s website and on the library’s public bulletin board.

2021 Board Meetings are currently scheduled for the following dates: January 13th, February 10th, March 10th, April 14th, May 12th, June 9th, July 14th, August 11th, September 8th, October 13th, November 17th, and December 8th.

Current Board of Directors

Katherine Wolfe – Chair
Term Expires: 2024

David Goodlett – Treasurer
Term Expires: 2022

Patti Park
Term Expires: 2024

Mary Toepfer – Vice Chair
Term Expires: 2025

Stacey Smith
Term Expires: 2022

Amy Feauto – Secretary
Term Expires: 2023

Shelley Bryant
Term Expires: 2025

Mayor Sandy Jacobs – Ex Officio